What does backup mean on mac

When you connect an external drive directly to your Mac, you might be asked if you want to use the drive to back up with Time Machine. If the disk you selected isn't formatted as required by Time Machine, you're prompted to erase the disk first.


  • Apple iPhone X?
  • Time Machine: What It Is, How It Works, How to Use It with Your Mac | Other World Computing Blog.
  • garritan aria player 64 bit mac.
  • Delete old iOS backups to free up tons of space on your Mac.
  • If you can't back up or restore your Mac using Time Machine.
  • les sims 3 cracker mac.
  • how to record screen on mac air;

Click Erase to proceed. This erases all information on the backup disk. After you select a backup disk, Time Machine immediately begins making periodic backups—automatically and without further action by you. Time Machine backs up only the files that changed since the previous backup, so future backups will be faster. Use the same menu to check the status of a backup or skip a backup in progress.

Information about products not manufactured by Apple, or independent websites not controlled or tested by Apple, is provided without recommendation or endorsement.


  1. How to back up (and restore) your Mac using Time Machine [MacRx].
  2. adobe flash player update for mac 10.4.11.
  3. hormel mac and cheese review.
  4. xtorrent free download for mac.
  5. Apple assumes no responsibility with regard to the selection, performance, or use of third-party websites or products. Apple makes no representations regarding third-party website accuracy or reliability. Risks are inherent in the use of the Internet. Contact the vendor for additional information. Or at the very least, move them to an external drive. To see if you've got any iPhone or iPad backups taking up valuable space on your Mac, click the Apple button in the top left and select About This Mac.

    Decide which method is best for you

    Next, click the Storage tab to see a graph of the various categories of files taking up space on your Mac and how much free space remains. If you see a big chunk labeled as iOS Files, then you've got some backups you can move or delete.

    How to Restore Your Mac With Time Machine

    If you no longer need them, highlight them and click the Delete button and then Delete again to confirm your intention to permanently delete the file. To move them to an external drive, click the Show in Finder button and then drag them to your external drive. How to set up Google's two-step verification: To better protect your digital life, specifically your Google account, turn on two-factor authentication for your Gmail account.

    You can also use a Time Capsule and some network drives more on this below. The default way to setup a Time Machine backup is dead simple. Connect the backup drive to your Mac. Click Use as Backup Disk and things will start automatically. Backing up to shared drives is convenient, though slower, and can be less reliable than a directly attached drive.

    If your networked drive is Time Machine-compatible, it will show as an available choice in the Select Disk… window.

    Time Machine system requirements

    External drives connected to your Mac are not included in backups by default, you can change this behavior here. Use the Time Machine menu in the Mac toolbar to verify the status of your backups. The menu is a small clock in a circle near at the top right corner of your screen.

    Back up your Mac with Time Machine

    When Time Machine is backing up your data, the circle and the clock hands spin counter-clockwise. Click on this menu to see the time of the Latest Backup. You can run an immediate backup by choosing Back Up Now. If you see an exclamation point inside the circle, it means there is a problem with your backups. Time Machine is known to stall out from time to time no pun intended.

    Many times you can simply choose Back Up Now to get things running again.

    Delete old iOS backups to free up tons of space on your Mac - CNET

    More on this below. You use the Time Machine application to browse your archives and restore files. This is located in your Applications folder, and is placed in the Dock by default on new Mac user accounts.